16 Responses to Scholarly Publishing Phishing Attempts Noted

  1. Samir Hachani says:

    When a scholarly journal publishes in all….” Fields of human Endeavour ” , one should be , to say the least , cautious !!!!

  2. Isn’t it high time the international academic community had some sort of regulatory body with executive powers to prosecute these kind of cases and make examples with some people to serve as a deterrent to others? I fear that if things continue like these the time may come when this “monster” cannot be tamed any more!

    • Samir Hachani says:

      Pwaveno. How could put this kind of “regulatory body” .As Dr. Beall has explained , these people are not doing something illegal per se but taking advantages of a situation. Beall’s list is as far as one could go.

  3. P Canning says:

    These are just like Nigerian scams. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/419_scams
    No one can do much about these except be cautious.

  4. dzrlib says:

    Always check the sender’s email address. Elsevier wouldn’t use gmail.com

  5. Richard says:

    what is your problem? why are you going about trying to destroy the good reputation these journals have been built. What is your take on this? Let me tell you open access journals have come to stay, and there is nothing you can do about it.

    I want the world to check some of the website you are criticizing. They publish good and quality papers

    • Samir Hachani says:

      I do not think this list is about open access but predatory open access journals. Open access is here to stay, develop and ultimately prevail.Dr. Beall’s list pinpoint those who hide behind false informations to charge fees , “publish” articles ,spread “science” etc….. Dr. Beall’s is doing a great job to uncover all the shenanigans these “publishers ” are up to. Unless you are a publisher , you do not seem to have understand the reason he’s is doing this job .

  6. […] has been hacked before. Now someone has created fake Elsevier phishing emails to lure unsuspecting […]

  7. Grecia says:

    Could you please check these website:


    • Interesting — this is a web design company, and it looks like they specialize in designing websites for predatory publishers! It’s possible the company owns all the “brands” of predatory publishers and the web design is a side business.

  8. bill says:

    Iportal is certainly an interesting example of a response to an expanding market with a low entry barrier.

  9. Dear Mr Beall,
    I don’t really understand what you mean by “Phishing attempt”. Do you want to warn us that by sending them an article, then they can know our e-mail’s password and then can hack our e-mail? or they will use our article, put another name as author, and publish it in another journal?
    Thanks for the enlightenment.

    • They will receive your article manuscript submission, and then they will tell you it is accepted and ask you to send them the money for the article processing charge. But the article will not be published anywhere. They just take the money and pretend to be a publisher, but they have no website.

  10. Dear Mr. Beall,
    Thanks a lot for the information. I hope that I wouldn’t get tricked in their attempts, after I was aware that this possibility might occur. .

Leave a Reply -- All comments are subject to moderation, including removal.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: