24 Responses to Publisher Acts Suspiciously Like OMICS Group

  1. L_C says:

    Interesting. According to a reverse domain name search, oatext.com is registered to a man named Ranjith Donthi, a man originally from Hyderabad now located in London:


    I believe that he is a software Engineer, the previous director of OA Text, and the (previous?) director at College of East London Limited.

    In fact, the address listed for OA text is where the College of East London Limited was previously listed:



    Additionally, OA text’s domain registry address is the same as another former company affiliated with Donthi, Study Links Limited:



    Further, OA text is also listed elsewhere as being affiliated with an address at Chiswick High Road in London:


    This also happens to be the address of Donthi’s other affiliations, including Citisoft Technologies Limited and Spurs IT Limited:



    Finally, he holds a non-business address in London. One of the other occupants at the same address, Priyanka Gaddam, another software engineer, is listed on various sites as being the current director of OA Text:



    • herr doktor bimler says:

      In fact, the address listed for OA text is where the College of East London Limited was previously listed:
      Looks like OAText started spamming straight after the College of East London went into liquidation.

  2. lantip says:

    Hello, I found publisher http://www.indianjournals.com/ . I did not see in publisher list. Is it okay to publish in this publisher ?

    • Actually, that’s not a publisher. It’s an aggregator. It collects journals from various publishers and provides a unified point of access. The quality of the journals ranges from really bad to good. I do not add aggregators to my list.

      • sudha says:

        Hello, I found publisher citations international and i am sending link or url also.
        I think it is one of the sister branch of omics.

        Dear Jeffrey Bell,

        Please see the below link and let you know to other scientists

        I am looking forward to see quality in research.

        With regards,

      • Thanks for alerting me to this new open-access publisher. I have analyzed it and added it to my list. It is a complete mess.

      • sudha says:

        Thank you Mr. Beall, even though you are alerting me through your comments, blogs and list of predatory journals but people are following them. I can not understand why they are publishing their articles in that predatory journals. I think some scientist want number of publishing articles in their research irrespective of quality. so kindly take another better step to prevent them..
        And once again i appreciate your efforts towards quality research.

  3. Delhi delights says:

    London is the New Indian Delhi. What takes place in Hyderabad, takes place in London.

  4. Thank you for all your efforts!

    Concerning OA Text, I checked “New Frontiers Ophthalmology” and found the following Miracle Wonderman as Editor:

    Dr. xxx provides ophthalmologic care of patients in his private clinics, emergency department, intensive speciality care for medical/surgery/neuro and trauma units and other speciality units (bone marrow transplantation), as well as the emergency department. He believes that a multi-team approach is essential for providing his patients with the highest and most efficient care. As such, he has integrated the service lines of ophthalmology, ENT, plastic surgery, neuro-surgery, neuro-intensivist/neurology, radiology, infectious disease, oncology, general surgery, hospital medicine, and emergency medicine in the hospitals in which he practices. Given the current state of the health care system, one approach to accomplishing the goal of providing care to the enlarging population of patients and the lacking supply of specialists is the development and utilization of telepresence in the form of teleophthalmology on a robotic platform. Dr. Martel is presently implementing this system into linking together a 57 hospital system.


    • herr doktor bimler says:

      I am shocked, stunned even, to find that the same egregious Renaissance Man also serves on the Editorial Board of JOJO, i.e. an ophthalmology journal from Juniper. Is Juniper Publisher another grasping band of ruffians and opportunistic scuzzbuckets? Magic 8-ball says “Yes”.

      Real editorial work would probably infringe on the time Dr XXX devotes to his fantasy life, so it is better for everyone that he attaches himself only to predatory publishers.

      • herr doktor bimler says:

        …also an Associate Editor for “Annals of International Medical and Dental Research”, and Openventio Publishers. It is as if he consulted Jeffrey’s List of Predatory Publishers as his main guide for which journals to accept an editorial position with.

  5. tekija says:

    The eye hospital group of the said good old editor Dr xxx gets a mixed review:

    He also may have written a Wikipedia page of himself?

  6. D Web says:

    I wonder who sold Norm’s email address – probably how I got on these lists, too. AGU maybe?

  7. I'm shipping up to Boston says:

    The company is registered in UK; however, the emails, which I traced few days back, are coming in from Hyderabad. I doubt if they’re even based in UK. The most pathetically fascinating thing is that all the emails are coming from Robert Rae.

  8. Inigo Montoya says:

    Open Access Text has a new outlet, called “Translational Brain Rhythmicity” (see http://oatext.com/Translational-Brain-Rhythmicity-TBR.php). Here’s how I learned about it via email today:

    Dear Dr. [name redacted]

    Greetings from Translational Brain Rhythmicity

    Hope everything is well with you!

    I would like to invite you to contribute a manuscript for the upcoming issue of the journal. All submitted manuscripts will be reviewed under the supervision of Dr. Marco Weiergräber.

    The deadline for submission of manuscripts is February 15, 2016.

    Publication charges for articles submitted on/before the due date are waived off.

    Submit your manuscript as an email attachment to submissions@oatext.com or as an reply to this email.

    I will be looking forward to hear from you soon!


    David Randall
    Editorial Assistant
    Translational Brain Rhythmicity
    Dr. Marco Weiergräber
    Founding Editor-in-Chief


    Needless to say, I have never published anything even remotely connected to brain rhythmicity.

    Dr. Marco Weiergräber works at the Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices, a government agency in Germany, and he looks like a reputable scientist. Perhaps one should let him know that Open Access Text uses questionable business practices.

  9. thomas says:

    I had a similar invitation for a oatext.com journal not remotely in my field, with a respectable researcher listed as the editor-in-chief.

    I wrote to him to find out if he was really involved. It turned out that he thought he was starting a real open-access journal; he said he would investigate further.

  10. roger says:

    I just got a linkedin request from David Randall, managing editor for OAT. I am going to decline it.

  11. scuius says:

    Yesterday I got an invitation as “honourable speaker” for a conference organized by OMICS conference series. Today, I receive an invitation by OAT. Therefore, I conclude that there is in fact a connection between these spammers.

  12. herr doktor bimler says:

    Latest spam from OAT:

    Dear Colleague
    Systems in Integrative Neuroscience (JSIN) is a journal which aspires of getting all the professionals related to neuroscience, neurology, neurosurgery, neuropsychiatry, neuroendocrinology and other related departments on a single platform to publish their articles.
    We invite you to submit articles for our upcoming issue before July 20th, 2016. The authors can directly send their articles in word format (.docx) to our editorial office via e-mail to editor@neuroscienceoa.org
    Home page: http://www.oatext.com/Journal-of-Systems-and-Integrative-Neuroscience-jsin.php

    James Goodwill
    Editorial Assistant
    for Editor in Chief, JSIN

    Who is this Editor-in-Chief, I wondered, whose name cannot be appended to the scammograms? So I went to the link…

    George Perry (Founding Editor in Chief)

Leave a Reply -- All comments are subject to moderation, including removal.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: